Steeped in history dating back to 1692, Lanzerac is a historic landmark and Stellenbosch icon. The Grande Dame is synonymous with old-world charm and rich Cape heritage. Positioned in the idyllic Jonkershoek Valley on the outskirts of the historical town of Stellenbosch, the Estate boasts views of dramatic mountain ranges, endless rows of lush vineyards, and hectares of gardens shaded by giant Oak trees.
The Cellar and Distillery were transformed into the Hotel dining area, lounge, bar, and kitchen in 1959 – reminiscent of the traditional French way of fusing a country hotel and wine estate. Today the iconic property hosts an elegant five-star hotel, acclaimed bars, restaurants and Deli, and a chic day spa.
Lanzerac is steeped in spellbinding history, having been established – a mere 13 years after Stellenbosch itself and is the third oldest farm in the area. The first owner was Isaac Schrijver who planted the very first vineyards and, unsurprisingly, named the farm Schoongezicht, meaning wonderful view. In the early 1800s, the first cellar was erected and subsequently complemented by the iconic Manor House, which exhibits an unusually high level of sophistication for Cape Dutch architecture of the period with its main gable dating back to 1830.
The Manor House and Werf, which now stands proud as a Provincial Heritage Site, underwent significant changes by one of the property’s most influential owners, Elizabeth Catherina ‘Kitty’ English, who bought Schoongezicht in 1920. Mrs. English changed the estate’s name to Lanzerac, rumoured to be after General Charles Lanrezac – a French General, who commanded the French Fifth Army at the outbreak of World War I. She also transformed it during her nine years of ownership into one of the most modern wineries in the Cape. Mrs. English passed away in 1929, and in 1934 the Estate was bought by Jacobus Tribelhorn – the builder who had extended the Manor House for Mrs. English.
The wine farm’s next owner, Angus Batts Buchanan, improved the estate’s reputation to another level by winning several awards for the wines, sherry, and brandy that he proudly produced and, in doing so, established Lanzerac as a leading brand.
Buchanan’s nephew, ‘Lord’ David Rawdon, ushered in an exciting new era when he purchased Lanzerac in 1958, by converting the farm into an elegant hotel and landmark. He converted the original cellar and its surrounding buildings into bars, lounges, dining areas, and hotel rooms.
Since then, the Lanzerac has become synonymous with Stellenbosch’s social agenda and provided many local and foreign tourists a unique Winelands experience, characterised by its heritage and commitment to friendly ‘Boland’ culture and service commitment.
Lanzerac has been under current ownership since 2012. Committed to bringing the grande dame’s infrastructure and service levels into a 21st-century luxury experience without compromising on its heritage, extensive renovations began early in 2013.
In the early hours of Sunday morning, 28 May 2017, a tragic fire severely damaged the main operational areas of the Hotel, and for the first time since the Rawdon brothers converted the estate into a hotel, the Lanzerac had to close its doors to the public for 13 months.
Contact Person: Debbie Bührs
Telephone: +27 (0)21 887 1132
Address: Lanzerac Hotel, 1 Lanzerac Road, Stellenbosch, 7600